Loss of Time Phenomenon

So I was hoping to post a couple of days ago, so you can imagine my surprise when I sat down and saw that I’m just a little past my original deadline. Whoops! However, I’ve been reassured by my co-workers and amazing crew of pre-trained volunteers that this loss of time phenomenon is quite common here at the San Francisco Bay Oiled Wildlife Care and Education Center.

As you can tell it’s been quite a busy here at facility. The days have been filled with washing, drying, conditioning, cage building and, of course, CLEANING! But all the work is worth it when you see how happy the birds are. Below is a happy Dunlin showing off his cool bands and strutting around the habitat designed and built by the OWCN staff and pre-trained volunteers.

Dunlin?

The OWCN staff would like to thank all the pre-trained volunteers, especially Kit Perry with Lindsay Wildlife Museum, for making this amazing habitat. I think this little one is pretty pleased with the work! (Photo credit: Cheryl Reynolds, IBRRC)

At this point in time we have received 45 live birds at the facility. Although most of them have been washed and are now in the process of regaining their “waterproofness”, the work continues. This means the kitchen staff (the wonderful Nancy Mix and pre-trained volunteers) are still busy prepping meals, the OWCN teams are busy monitoring our little patients’ recovery, and the endless stream of cleaning and laundry duties continues. But the overall goal of releasing these birds back into the environment keeps all of us, staff and pre-trained volunteers, going.

As for the loss of time phenomenon I hear it comes in waves. So if you don’t hear from me for a day or two, don’t worry! I promise to post again as soon as I can. If you have any suggestions on things you’d like to read about on the blog, please feel free to leave a comment!

– Kaiti

Leave a Reply

