The Year of Change

After Greg Massey posted his blog about his impending departure from the OWCN, Kaiti blogged back with this:  “The year 2010 is the year of the Tiger–grrr”!  Evidently this sign is traditionally associated with massive change and social upheaval. So according to some people, this year will likely be full of changes on both a large (global) and small (personal) scale.”

The tiger strikes again, the rumblings of change continue, and I am sad to say that I will also be departing from the OWCN family.  Instead of saying “The year 2010 is the year of the Tiger–grrr!”  I will say “The year 2010 is the year of the Tiger–bbrrrr!” since I was offered a very exciting job in Anchorage, Alaska as the director of Audubon Alaska.  After much discussion with my family I accepted.

What does this mean for the OWCN?  Luckily, we have a strong organization with a solid structure already in place and fantastic network organizations assisting.  In the next weeks, we will begin advertising for a person to replace me (so if you think that you are that person or you know of someone with good skills, get ready).  Hopefully, we will have someone hired in time to overlap with me.  I will be with the OWCN until June and I am committed to creating a seamless transition.

In the meantime, all of our normal functions will continue and I will be contacting many of you to tell you personally how much I have enjoyed working with you.

– Nils

Leave a Reply

