Deepwater Horizon Day 48a: A Charming Blast from the Past…

I initially saved these two links from a Sacramento Bee “Point-Counterpoint” piece published on April 18th 2010 to blog on later that week, but got swept away by this spill in the following days.  I have since unearthed them, reread them, and find them a very interesting pre-Deepwater view on the pros and cons of drilling which, I can guarantee you, are no longer valid.  Enjoy (or not):

The Conversation: Is it time to get beyond the Santa Barbara oil spill? No

The Conversation: Is it time to get beyond the Santa Barbara oil spill? Yes

– Mike

2 thoughts on “Deepwater Horizon Day 48a: A Charming Blast from the Past…

  1. Hi Mike,
    I’ve been following your blog since the beginning, and I must say it offers a glimmer of hope in this dark event. I have a question for you though, I keep seeing pictures of oiled birds suffering, struggling in the water or near shore– who is helping these animals? Are these pictures being taken before you heroically scoop the animals up and try to help them any way you can? I sincerely hope these animals are not just left suffering after these pictures are taken! Thanks for all you and your team are doing anf best of luck to you all.

  2. Hey Mike,

    Thanks again for writing all that you do – I keep up. I wanted to run an idea by you and any others, and I don’t know if this is the place to do it. Anyway, I wonder how the private/smaller sanctuaries/refuges are doing? I know they are sending the birds/animals to the big rescue centers. I am asking because we were thinking of sending “care packages” and weren’t sure which centers might appreciate free Emeriad and other things as well.

    Thanks for any guidance you might offer!

    LoraKim

Leave a Reply

