Deepwater Horizon Spill: One Year After

Hello everyone-

As is evidenced by the numerous articles, blogs and other reports today, the DWH spill is still very much in everyones minds and hearts.  Similar to many other folks, I had planned on “celebrating” (for lack of a better word) the one year “anniversary” of the spill with a recollection of the fact and figures associated with the largest oil spill in US history, the current status of wildlife rescue and care, and comments on the state of the environment in the Gulf. After further reflection, though, I think it is more appropriate to remember the 11 crewmembers of the Deepwater Horizon rig today and wish their families our thoughts and prayers on this day.

That is not to say that I don’t want to share with you my reflections on the event – far from it.  I have chosen to do this, however, on the “anniversary” of the inception/activation of the Marine Mammal/Sea Turtle Group – April 29.  I have spent a great deal of time over the past month critically thinking about what occurred – what went well and what we can do as a wildlife community to improve how we approach spill response. I look forward to sharing my thoughts with our OWCN partners.  We will also hopefully have some guest bloggers share their stories with us to give several voices and viewpoints to such a historic event.

So, for tonight, I wish everyone a safe and healthy April 20th, and I am truly grateful that it passed in an oil-free manner.

– Mike

Leave a Reply

