Calling all creative critter caretakers

OK, so I’m not a real poet. But I am betting that most of you are way more creative than I am!

So I want to invite any of you who want to share your creative side to use this blog as a means to convey your thoughts or insights about wildlife rehabilitation with images or words.

Any format goes. The idea is to share your passion for caring about animals with folks that feel the same way.

Just to provide a little jump start, I’ll share some Haiku. Why Haiku? Because I can handle a format that just requires: 1st line = 5 syllables, 2nd line = 7 syllables, 3rd line = 5 syllables.

…And it’s short, so you don’t have to read too much of my writing. However, I’m sure you can do much better!

Title: Loon, murre or orca?

  • Liquid silver voice
  • Strong in ocean not on land
  • Black and white beauty

Title: Oiled bird’s journey

  • So cold, beached, hungry…
  • Hands, towel, tube, soap, pools, fish
  • Freedom! Home, sweet home!

…And for those who prefer visual art, I’ll share one photo image.

Harbor seal pup

Harbor seal pup: Convinced he needs some more fish!

I know we have some GREAT photographers and painters out there. I’m sure we would all enjoy admiring some of your artwork.

So, I sincerely invite you will share with us a small bit of the joy, passion and wonder that keeps you working with wildlife.

–Nancy

Leave a Reply

