Deepwater Horizon Day 54: Home Sweet Houma

Since Mike’s in some serious need of sleep, it looks like you’re stuck with me for tonight’s post. To be honest, since I’ve only spent a few hours at the Command Post today, this will be a pretty short post. Although it was a long travel day, I was excited (yes, I’m a bit lame) to check out the Command Post. Like you, I’ve been reading Mike’s posts and have been trying to imagine the environment in which he was working. The only way I can describe it is that it’s like a big bee hive. The place is bustling with activities and people. It’s a pretty impressive sight. The one thing that I find a bit amusing is that you can definitely pick out new kids (like me) from the seasoned vets (like Mike). Hopefully in these next couple of days I’ll be able to learn my way around this place, be a positive addition to the response, and slide from the role of new kid to seasoned vet. I’ll do my best to keep you posted!

-Kaiti

Leave a comment